Share this story...
Latest News

UC Davis QB Jake Maier Makes Watch List For Performer Of The Year

(Photo by Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images)

DAVIS, Calif. — UC Davis senior quarterback Jake Maier has been selected among 40 candidates, including seven from the Big Sky Conference, for the CFPA National Performer of the Year preseason watch list. The College Football Performance Awards will announce its winner on January 15, 2020.

This marks yet another preseason nomination for the communication major from La Habra, California, as Maier was selected to the Walter Payton Award watch list on July 31. The Payton Award goes to the top FCS offensive player of the year, while the CFPA honor goes to the top performer from either side of the ball.

Maier also earned preseason All-America status from STATS, Athlon Sports and HERO Sports heading into 2019. He completed 364 of 557 passes for 3,931 yards and 34 touchdowns as a junior, helping the Aggies to a 10-3 overall record and a share of the Big Sky Conference title. UC Davis also made its first-ever appearance in the FCS playoffs in 2018. Maier enters his final year with career totals of 1,003 attempts, 670 completions, 7,600 yards and 60 touchdowns. 

UC Davis begins the 2019 season at California on August 31.

Luke Anthony (QB), Abilene Christian 
Noah Johnson (QB), Alcorn State 
Jeremiah Oatsvall (QB), Austin Peay 
Aaron Dawson (RB), Central Connecticut State 
Grant Breneman (QB), Colgate 
Derek Kyler (QB), Dartmouth 
Wesley Dugger (RB), Davidson 
Jack Cook (QB), Dayton 
A.J. Hines (RB), Duquesne 
Eric Barriere (QB), Eastern Washington 
Davis Cheek (QB), Elon 
Quay Holmes (RB), ETSU
Deondre Francois (QB), Hampton 
Aaron Shampklin (RB), Harvard 
Caylin Newton (QB), Howard 
Brady Davis (QB), Illinois State 
James Robinson (RB), Illinois State 
Jon Copeland (QB), Incarnate Word 
Ryan Boyle (QB), Indiana State 
Zerrick Cooper (QB), Jacksonville State 
Ben DiNucci (QB), JMU 
Chris Ferguson (QB), Maine 
Kenji Bahar (QB), Monmouth 
Dalton Sneed (QB), Montana 
Troy Andersen (RB), Montana State 
Case Cookus (QB), NAU 
Chase Fourcade (QB), Nicholls State 
Shelton Eppler (QB), Northwestern State 
Elijah Dotson (RB), Sacramento State 
Jordan Meachum (RB), Sacred Heart 
Michael Bandy (WR), San Diego 
Austin Simmons (QB), South Dakota 
Cade Johnson (WR), South Dakota State 
Pierre Strong, Jr. (RB), South Dakota State 
Daniel Santacaterina (QB), Southeast Missouri
D.J. Davis (RB), Southern Illinois 
Tom Flacco (QB), Towson 
Jake Maier (QB), UC Davis 
Josh Davis (RB), Weber State 
Tyrie Adams (QB), Western Carolina